Baked Apple Bliss

Baked apples are, unofficially, one of my favorite foods of all time.

Unofficially, of course, because the “favorite foods of all time” list that I keep running in my head is generally swayed by what is in season and/or in my kitchen and/or what I’m craving. Currently, my favorite foods of all time list is: Mexican (always at the top), baked apples, peanut butter buttercream, and anything pumpkin. Numbers 2 & 4 are seasonally influenced, and 1 & 3 are pretty much always at the top … usually competing for the illustrious position of #1 favorite food of all time.

Clearly, the taxonomy needs some work because “favorite food of ALL TIME” should probably be more permanent. But I digress.

This week, baked apples top the list because 1) I just visited my Grandmother the Canning Queen, whose baked apples are divine, and 2) it’s apple season and I made some myself this week!

As with most of my recipes, this one is loosely based on this from The Neelys of Food Network fame.

Baked Apples

8 Granny Smith Apples, thinly sliced (I like to leave the peel on for texture)

8 Jonathan Apples (tart-and-tasty! but you can use any apples you want, really, to vary sweetness/tartness level)

2 cups spiced apple cider

5-6 whole cloves

lots of cinnamon

juice from 2 lemons

1/2 cup brown sugar

 

– Slice the apples (aren’t they so pretty and fall-ish?)

– Boil the apple slices and all of the other ingredients until mushy. And that’s it!

Your house will smell amazing. Your tastebuds will love you. There isn’t really a better way to celebrate fall than this! Simple, fast, delicious. Enjoy!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Baked Apple Bliss

  1. Ah yes, they were heavenly. Thanks for sharing them with us and for sharing the recipe here! This is now officially on the list of recipes to make soon!

Leave a Reply

