Fruit Basket Turnover

Oh, it’s been a busy weekend of food-and-friend love! So many little stories are crowding my mind with no common theme except for the happiness they bring.

I love 3 day weekends. I want 3 day weekends EVERY week. Truly. This was like fresh water to my soul.

Friday night we trekked to Nolensville for a taste of Martin’s Barbecue, of Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives fame. Now Guy Fieti is not my favorite Food Network personality, but it was fun to eat the same food he raved about.

Perhaps it’s important to note here that I don’t really like barbecue,  nor do I know much about it. (There are a few things that make my sweet husband scratch his head and say “who are you again?” … my distaste for barbecue being one … having never seen Star Wars being another). I had to ask “what’s brisket?” when I saw it on the menu. I know a lot about food, but barbecue is like a foreign language.

I ordered smoked chicken. It was tasty, but not worth the belly-ache that came that night, which was probably more from the cornbread fried in pork lard. Sometimes, you do what you have to do … and don’t ask what’s in it. But the baked beans were hands-down the best I’ve ever tasted … maybe even good enough to warrant a return trip.  All in all, a lovely night with friends.

Saturday brought a fun date day with husband, involving Jacksons‘ beer cheese dip (ohmygoshsogood) and Sweet Ceces frozen yogurt. Not my finest dinner in terms of avoiding-processed-foods, but a sweet night with my best friend.

Sunday we had dinner with friends Tim and Sarah at Taco Mamacita. They are our favorite double-date couple, and anytime Sarah and I can split a PITCHER of sangria for $7 (Sangria Sundays!) it’s an extra good night. I love sharing meals with friends … especially when there’s a $7 PITCHER of Sangria involved. Do I need to say that again? A $7 PITCHER. Yeah. It’s that good a deal. You should try it.

Monday (extra day! yay!) we kayaked down the Duck River. I love kayaking a lot, and it was such a relaxing morning. Then we went to a cookout with my family, because it was Memorial Day, and I practiced not being judgmental of the food on the table … I hid it well, but an uber-processed ice cream cake is a travesty.

Back home to make dinner for the siblings-in-law … chicken tacos with black beans, corn and goat cheese. Yum! And the best part? LEFTOVERS!

So all-in-all a lovely weekend … a fruit basket turnover of friends, family, food, and fun. I’m such a lucky girl!


One thought on “Fruit Basket Turnover

  1. $7 for a pitcher of sangria?! That will get me exactly one beer up here. Lame. I need you to come up here and teach me how to cook. Pretty please? -AC

Leave a Reply

